Gravity readings after 2 weeks in primary really necessary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Biscuits

Reaction score
I am posting this in the beginners section because even though I have been brewing for a few years, it still seems like somewhat of a newbie question to me. BUT, I always see the advice of taking two hydrometer readings 3 days apart to verify whether your fermentation is complete, and I wonder...How often, if ever, is it not? I ask this while bearing in mind that I always leave my wort/beer in primary for 2 weeks regardless of OG.

Is this one of those antiquated methods that we still do blindly because of tradition? This day and age, with controlled production of brewing grains and yeast strains, is it really necessary? Don't get me wrong, I still take a reading before I bottle, but mainly to see where my beer ended up and calculate ABV as well as to see if there were any issues with my process that produced unfermentables.

Am I wrong to question this? I guess the old saying, "better safe than sorry" applies here...but how many of you, who ferment for longer than lets say a solid 7 days" have ever taken a reading and found that your beer (normal gravity range, 1.040-1.060'ish) was still fermenting?

Nope. I do it because I've had fermentation restart in the bottle. It is nearly effortless to take a reading, so why not do it?