Gravity Reading Mystery

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, brand-noob here.

I just started brewing in December (got a kit for xmas) and had 1 successful batch from that. I graduated to a Hefeweizen next and now i'm fermenting a Dunkelweizen. Heres the hitch:

For the Hefe I had high gravity readings before fermentation (1.070 (Recipe calls for 1.053-1.054)). 1Wk in Primary, 2 Wks in Secondary and the gravity was still around 1.030-1.035. Bottled with 1/4 Cup Wheat DME and let sit for 3 weeks. The beer is not exactly flat, but not carbonated very well and will not retain a head. Also noticing a slight ammonia smell. Beer is sweet and VERY banana --y. Hah, I Don't like it. Wondering if I can let this age and maybe it will get better??? If not, i'll donate it to science.

Now I have a Batch of Dunkel in the Secondary for 2 weeks and still at a 1.032. It wont seem to fall below that! Let it sit? Pee in it a little??? haha, i'm kidding, but really, whats the deal? what am I doing? The temp has been Consistently 68F for 3 Weeks!!!

Check your hydrometer in water at 60F. I would not be surprised if it reads 1.020 or so.

What kind of yeast are you using? If its dry, then it's recommended to rehydrate it. Are you aerating it enough when you pitch the yeast (i.e. shaking the sh*t out of it)? It's a very odd terminal gravity to reach. Most people get stuck on 1.020. I am a noob too so maybe some pro's will chime in.

As far as aeration goes, i slosh it in, swirl it around, but take no special effort. The yeast was from a liquid starter pack used in the previous beer (hefe), then cultured in the fridge for a week and pitched to this beer. Im thinking the yeast have just given up due to some missing nutrient or something.