Gower Gold

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrispy321

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to brewing, I was looking to do a golden ale,something similar to Gower gold. Has anyone got anything close to this I could use please. Grain, not extract

From the searches I did, it seems to be a Golden Ale with Cascade hops, 4.5% ABV.
It may be a Pale Ale, depending on bitterness and hoppiness.

Brewing a clone of a commercial beer is extremely difficult. Even if you had the exact recipe and the same ingredients, the differences in process will make a different beer. Don't forget, pretty much every brewery has cultivated their own house yeast(s), intentionally or unintentionally, small deviations and mutations have been adding up over the years. You may get in the ballpark after a few serious tries, tweaks and tastings, but it will still be different.

The good news is, you may brew an even better version (at least to some palates). And if you can consistently replicate that, that's as good as it gets.

We do a commercial clone competition at our homebrew club, about once every other year. Most, if not all beers presented are very good, but none are very close in side by side tastings. There's usually something missing, or some things extra, a specific flavor or aroma, or mouthfeel that doesn't quite compare. It's very difficult pinpointing how to level the field. Then on homebrew level brewing consistency is always a tricky proposition.

What have you brewed so far?
I saw you have an issue with your beer smelling (too) sweet. Maybe you can start a new thread for that. Please post your recipe, yeast, OG and FG, and your general process. And describe as best as you can your impressions as to why you perceive more sweetness than it should have.