Glass Cooktops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

rjsilvers

Reaction score
I've got an electric stove with a glass cooktop. I'm just starting out brewing and I bought a 5.25 gallon pot to boil with and I got it home and it says "Do not use with glass cooktops" on the side.

I looked it up on Google and it said anything bigger than the size of the burner may crack the glass.

Anybody else have any experience with glass cooktops and brewing?

uwjester

Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score
I think that's probably good advice. I think you'd have a hard time keeping 4-5 gallons boiling on a glass top anyway. That's what I have and I can keep 3 gallons going, but barely.

OP
R

rjsilvers

Reaction score
uwjester said:
I think that's probably good advice. I think you'd have a hard time keeping 4-5 gallons boiling on a glass top anyway. That's what I have and I can keep 3 gallons going, but barely.
Well actually I wasn't going to do a full boil. The recipe only calls for a 2 gallon boil and that's what I was going to do.

I also have a 3 gallon pot that I've used for cooking, but I wasn't sure if I could do a 2 gallon boil in a 3 gallon pot safely. Your thoughts?

gruntingfrog

Reaction score
I have a glass stove and did 3 gallon boils when I first started out. I was also using a 5 gallon pot and never had an issue. Granted, I only did 4 batches indoors before going all-grain on a propane burner outside, so this is probably not a valid sample size to determine the safety of brewing on a glass stove.

cubbies

Tastes like butterdirt
Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score
huh, maybe I should have read instructions. I got my turkey frier a couple of months ago, and before that I did full boils (7gallons usually) on my glass top, electric stove. Took a long time to get going, but it was certainly doable. Sure am glad I didnt break the stove. SWMBO would have flipped. :drunk:

njnear76

Reaction score
cubbies said: