German style ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chillhuman

Reaction score
I wanted to make a nice Alt beer this weekend. The recipe I cooked up was this

9.25 # 2-row
.75 # 120L crystal malt

Mash @ 153-154 for 90 minutes

Sparge and boil 6.5 gal

@90 minutes - 1 oz Northern Brewer @ 7.5 AA
@15 minutes - 1 oz First Gold (never used before, smells sharp, spicy)
@3 minutes - 1/2 oz Saaz

Cool to 70F, pitch White Labs German Ale / Kolsch yeast - no starter

OG - 1.060

I'll keep updating this post as I go. I have used WL Kolsch before, and as long as I don't guarantee failure by getting too cute and fancy with the recipe, I am expecting a good beer. I've never used First Gold before, but it smells good.

Also - I crushed the grains really finely, which gave good yield, but I think I ended up getting tannins in the beer too. I'll know better in a few weeks.

--edit--

After 2 days the yeast has started fermenting vigorously. A slight sulfur smell is noticeable, but the beer looks healthy. So far, so good.

As always, brew what you like. To be true to style, I'd back off on the 2-row - unless you're shooting for the Sticke or special version. The style guidlines have the OG at 1.046-1.054. I'd add maybe 1-2 oz of some kind of roasted malt to help darken the beer without adding any roasted flavors. I like to use 2 oz of dehusked Carafa III. I personally skip the aroma hops, but that is my preference. I've had a number of different Alts in Germany (brother-in-law lives near Dusseldorf) and I never really noticed much hop aroma although the style guidlines says up to moderate is OK. Bitterness varied from low to moderate. All were fairly malty in flavor. I like the ones with more bitterness (Ureige).