Full sun or partial

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigTexBrewer

Reaction score
So I am a noob at hop growing, I live in the Dallas, Tx area and if this summer is anything like last summer it's going to be tough but I am up for the challenge.

My question is, since I live in a place that gets upwards of 80+ days of over 100 degrees, very little rain, and a lot of strong wind gusts, should I plant on the south side of my house so the plants get full sun or on the side so that the hops can get some afternoon shade. Oh and the afternoon in Texas is the hottest part of the day, stupid sun.

if you have the option, why not try both and see what works best? try planting one or two per location, test it out, then plant any additional hops wherever works best.

also, there are certain varieties that do better than others in heat. according to my research, cascade, columbus and nugget do well in hot climates. next-best would be centennial, magnum, santiam and willamette which are listed as "all climate". varieties to avoid would include fuggle, mt hood, perle, saaz and ultra - apparently they don't do well in hot climates.

Hey Sweetcell & BigTexBrewer! Thanks for the info as I am going to be ordering Rhizomes to complement what I brought with me from Washington State. I just suffered though my first growing season and can say without question, Fuggle hates the sun and the heat! I am going to trying growing it in on the north side of the house out of direct sun and see if that works. Good luck this hops year!

hi JackiB!