Fruiting the beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wulfsburg

Reaction score
I am new to brewing but I have been reading this forum for DAYS now. I have been brewing ingredient extract/steeping kits and I have my 2nd batch in my fermentation bucket. I have a cream ale (Northern Brewing kit), IPA (Northern Brewing kit), and a red ale (Brewers Best kit) all in the mail or in my pantry. The Northern Brewing kits are coming with liquid yeast.

After all the reading I want to rack my beer into a secondary with some fruit to add some flavor. I would imagine the cream ale would be the ideal choice to rack in a secondary with some fruit.
I have a few questions about this process.

Is racking into a plastic bucket as a secondary ok?
When would you rack it? During or after fermentation?
How do you sanitize the fruit?
Do you put it into a porous bag like a steeping bag/sock? If so how do you sanitize that?

What kind of fruit would you suggest I put in a cream ale? I was thinking peaches, oranges, or strawberries.

Thanks for reading! Thanks for your help!

Glass is better for secondarys than plastic because plastic is oxygen permeable. With that said, you are racking onto fruit which means you'll kick off a new fermentation and I'm assuming you won't be leaving it in there for months. So racking into a bucket with fruit for a couple more weeks should be fine.

I don't bag my fruit. Just make sure you pit and skin what you put in, unless it's something like strawberries or raspberries.

You can sanitize them by pasturizing. You'll want to use pectic enzyme if your worried about haze.

I made a pretty good peach cream ale a while back. I'm not sure if citrus is a good choice though.