Freshly poured "home-brew" smell that goes away leaving lovely beer behind ...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

p_p

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to hombrewing having only done a few batches so far.
A couple of months back I brew an oats stout that turned out really nice and have left everybody wanting more.

There is something I am not satisfied with and would like your opinion.
I tend to pour vigorously to create a big head which I usually let sit for 1-2 minutes so it becomes dense and creamy.

Now, if I stick my nose right there after pouring, as the head is forming up, I get a "home-brew" smell I don't get in commercial beers. If I had to qualify it, I would say yeasty, rich, sweet.

Once the beer has settled, the smell is no longer there and the taste is very clean with no detectable off-flavours / aromas.

This beer has a lovely hops flavour, not overwhelming and a subtle hop aroma. It feel layered and well balanced without much perceivable sweetness despite the rather high FG. It finishes on the bitter side, right there on the back of the palate.

What do you think this first smell coming out is? Why does is it there and dissipates away once the foam has stopped growing?