Fresh Wort Kit??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

usastout

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to brewing and just moved to Australia. The LHBS recommended a fresh wort kit to me to start...just add water, yeast and ferment. No cooking.

Anyone "brewing" this way in the US?

Although you can "make beer" that way, it's usually not very good.

Instead, look for extract brewing, where you boil part of the (unhopped) malt extract with hops of your choosing (usually an hour), add more hops toward the end of the boil, then add the remainder of the extract when you turn the heat source off. Chill, pour or rack into a fermentation vessel, top up with cold water to required volume, and add yeast. Keep at the low side of the temp range for the yeast for 2-3 weeks.

Extract brewing can be enhanced by using steeping grains and/or performing a partial mash.

Then there is all-grain brewing that doesn't use any extract, just malts and other grains, which is the most advanced method, and the way commercial breweries and many homebrewers brew beer.

Added 07-13-2016:
I'm not going to rescind what I wrote above, although at the time I was not familiar with those "fresh wort" kits. I had assumed they were some sort of hopped malt extract (HME), which has proven itself over the years not to be the route to good or even mediocre beers.

I'm fairly new to brewing and just moved to Australia. The LHBS recommended a fresh wort kit to me to start...just add water, yeast and ferment. No cooking.

Anyone "brewing" this way in the US?

I make soup this way, just open a can, heat a bit in the microwave and serve. I also make soup where I start with fresh meat and vegetables. Care to guess which one takes longer? How about which one tastes better?