Fresh Hop issue

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

archthered

Reaction score
I am fairly new to growing hops, this year I finally should have a small amount of home grown hops that I can use. I was planning on a fresh/wet hop IPA/Pale Ale depending on just how much I get. I only have one bine producing hops and basically want to harvest them and throw them straight in to wort. That said it looks like some hops will be ready for harvest before the others. I am afraid that just leaving the ripe hops on the bine while the rest ripen will degrade their quality, though feel free to correct me on that. I am unsure of the best way to deal with this issue, I was thinking of harvesting the early hops at peak and then putting them in the fridge or freezer but I'm not sure that won't affect the flavor and I'm not sure which will best preserve the fresh hop elements. Additionally there is probably another solution that what I am thinking so please offer any thoughts.

And because I feel like someone will ask, though I don't think its relevant, here is a bit more background. I live in Missouri and have a second year chinook plant that is probably around 20+ feet long. It dosen't have a ton of cones, unless there's alot hiding high up where I can't see it, but it should do the trick for one 5 gal batch.

I’ve always read that you shouldn’t freeze fresh hops. I’ve also heard that you shouldn’t keep them more than 48 hours in the fridge (although I don’t necessarily believe this one).
I make one batch of rye pale wet hop batch per year and have always picked at one time. Some are turning brown when I do this but the beer always turns out great. If they are too brown or rotten looking, throw those out for the order of the good!