Forgot to take OG reading

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jhudson3030

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the site but so far everything seems very informative. I'm also new to home brewing and feel I've made a rookie mistake. I started my first batch (honey porter extract kit from Midwest Supplies) on Saturday (12/28). As far as I'm concerned everything went well as far as the boil, sanitation, and transfer to primary fermenter (bucket.) Anyway to the point, I did not start my yeast, I just added it dry straight from the packet. I gave it a slight stir and put the lid on and then the air lock. I forgot to take an OG reading. All the way up to today I have not seen any action in the air lock as far as bubbling. I can tell that there is pressure on the water in the air lock. I went to a friend of mine and seen his batches bubbling like crazy and thats when I became concerned. Tuesday I removed the lid and did notice a good amount of foam so that helped me rest at ease somewhat. I just hope the yeast did its job but I have no way to tell since I didnt take an OG reading. Thanks to all who can provide and help!

If you used all the ingredients in the kit and the correct volume (presumably 5 gallons) went into the fermenter then the OG will be very close if not spot on what the kit (or calculation) says it will be.

So, if you did take a gravity reading now, you could compare it to the OG listed on the kit instruction (assuming the above).

Also, if there are air leaks in the fermenter sealing you may not get much airlock activiity.