Force carbing and aging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

exc503

Reaction score
I am, or have, brewed what i hope to be a session style IPA/PA, in a couple of days i will be racking to the keg from the secondary; I want to age it for a week or two at lease before i try to drink it. This is my first time force carbing, so my question is do you normally carb then age, or age then carb, or does it not make a difference. In the past I would bottle then age the bottles but some of the period was for the yeast to carb the beer.

When you say force carbing, are you talking about bumping up pressure to something like 30 PSI to get it to carbonate in a couple of days, or do you intend to use the "set and forget" method, which is hook it up to gas at serving pressure and let it carbonate over time.

If you hook it up at serving pressure then it will take a week or two to carbonate. It will also age, albeit slower while it is cold. If you want to age at room temp, which would age it a bit quicker, then I would rack to the keg, get it under pressure, and then let it sit for a week. Then carbonate whichever way you want. For an IPA, a session at that, I would rack, set it up to carbonate at serving pressure, stick it in your fridge or whatever you have, and come back in a week and see how it is doing.

When you say force carbing, are you talking about bumping up pressure to something like 30 PSI to get it to carbonate in a couple of days, or do you intend to use the "set and forget" method, which is hook it up to gas at serving pressure and let it carbonate over time.