First Yeast Wash and Starter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmward21

Reaction score
I've been homebrewing for 2 months now and I've recently learned the importance of proper yeast pitching. So last week I washed and saved a Wyeast 1272 from an Irish Red. I saved it from the secondary which I'm not sure was right but I've seen from this forum where people wash from both primary and secondary.

Sanitizing the mason jars:
16337013332_7fe4a8f79c_z.jpg

Washing the yeast:
16151992137_4e75bd177e_z.jpg

Settled Yeast:
16150496150_155ef681ed_z.jpg

I made a simple stir plate that I copied from a fellow HBT member:
16371143232_e676094ae6_z.jpg

Boiled and cooled 2/3 cup LME with 2 cups water. I used LME because it is what I had. Everyone always used DME, so hopefully this was ok.
16185812339_57d22637a0_z.jpg

Pitched the yeast and started up the stir plate
15752049723_87e121de05_z.jpg

15752047743_b2c15c084c_z.jpg

I let it run for 26 hours or so and it was still fermenting. I turned off the stir plate and let the yeast settle. I ended up pitching the entire starter since I didn;t want to waste any of the yeast.

Lessons Learned:
1) I need smaller flask. I have bought a variety pack off amazon (250ml up to 1000ml)
2) Make starters in advance to allow yeast to fully ferment.
3) Buy DME.

Does anybody have any feedback that can help my process? I'm trying to make the best beer I can so I am open to criticism.

Cheers