First time with WY1010... recipe ideas? commercial examples?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chriso

Broken Robot Brewing Co.
Reaction score
Hey all,

I have a smack pack of WY 1010 American Wheat in my fridge that I should use up before it passes its' prime...

First - I've never used this before - any good examples of what fermentation characteristics I can expect from it?

I've seen a couple references to Bell Oberon clones as well as maybe a Gumball Wheat clone... I've never had the latter, but I had Oberon once, I don't remember much about its' taste - which, for my palate, I guess is pretty characteristic for any wheat beer. Spend too much time swallowing it to taste it. ;) ... but what other beers are also a good example of how the 1010 will ferment?
(Edit: I just read on another site that 1010 is allegedly the Widmer strain. True? False? I find Widmer Hefe to be a reasonably solid drinkin' beer, no complaints there!)

Second - I've seen a lot of horror stories, as I search old threads... some say that it throws off a lot of sulfur if you go too low in temp (should not be an issue, as it's summer, and even my basement won't go below 60*F) -- but I've also seen reports that it throws sulfur when you go too high in temp as well (this is a much bigger concern, my counterflow chiller stops at about 71*F in this weather, and I have to let it sit in the cold corner of the basement for a couple of hours to come down to mid-60's before I pitch).

What's the best way to ferment it? Try to nail it into place at 63-64*F? Should I try to warm it up at the end? Or stay constant at 63-64*F all the way thru kegging?