First time, what kind of wine?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loesher

Reaction score
Hi guys! Im new to wine making and I purchased all the normally used tools/chemicals to start small one gallon batches of various fruit wines. I have a large basement with plenty of room so I plan on making a variety of wines. What fruit is the best one to start with? I want to learn as I go, but to keep my motivation high, Id like to start out with success. Also, some novice questions...
1. Using a secondary fermenter to age the wine vs. Bottling and aging. Is the 6 months to a year aging split between the two?
2. What stops the wine from going bad while aging?
3. How essential is using a mesh bag? My gallon jugs wont allow the use of them.

Thank you!

Welcome to the obsession!

You can age the wine in the bottle, but you probably don't want to bottle until the wine is completely and totally clear and no longer dropping any lees (sediment) after at least 60 days. The reason is because anything that drops out after that will end up in the bottle and then come out in the wine when you pour the wine. Sometimes that's just aesthetics, but wine lees can also taste pretty bad so you want to bottle once there is little to no chance of the sediment falling in the bottle.

You want to keep the wine "topped up"- that is, filled to within an inch or so of the bung, to prevent it from oxidizing or from allowing infection to take hold. Also, many winemakers use small amounts of sulfites (much lower amounts than in commercial wines) as an antioxidant and preservative.