First time using liquid yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

machinehead131

Reaction score
Alright, I got a kit on the way (Belgian Witbier w/ White Labs Belgian Wit Ale 400)

I have never used liquid yeast before. This is the pitchable tube and I do not have any extra malt extract to use to make the starter.

Do I need to buy malt extract to make the starter or can I use some from the kit?

I assume I need to buy some for this.

I don't have a flask, what else can I use to make the starter?

Thanks!

you can use any vessel appropriately sized, glass would be preferable. a large jar of some sort, an old juice/wine jug, growler from your local brewpub, something like that. you could use some of the ME from the kit, but if you can find some without much trouble, just get a big bag of it to use for starters.

yeah any vessel will do for a starter. Before I got a flask I used to use an old juice bottle with tin foil over the top.

Making a starter is definitely your best bet, but, if you can pitch white labs direct from the tube in a pinch. I did this for many batches of differing gravities without issue. Though, definitely not recommended for high gravity beers.

Since the starter would take 1-2 cups (depending on size), I don't think I'd borrow from the kit (though you could).

Do you have an empty growler handy? You could use that for the starter. Or, any bottle really that you can rig up some type of airlock on.

I use a cleaned and sanitized Ball jar, but any pitcher would work. I loosely cover the top with tin foil. I give it a shake/swirl everytime I walk by it for a couple of days and then it's ready.