First Sour Batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hhudgeons

Reaction score
Since I have been brewing for several years, I do not believe myself to be a beginner in brewing; I am a beginner in brewing certain styles. So I need a little advice in brewing my first sour. I have made a small batch strawberry ale, hoping for a sour in 18 + months. I have already brewed my all grain batch and fermented the first time with a regular ale yeast. I have just racked to another container for the second fermentation. My yeast of choice...Wyeast 3763 Roeselare.

Ok, so when this yeast arrived at my door it was a little warm and appeared to have been activated partially. I put in the refrigerator and decided to wait until it was ready in a week or so to open and re-evaluate. A week later I looked into the yeast package. It appeared that one side of the activator had been used, the other side was still intact. I tried to use the other side of the activator but the yeast didn't appear to have much bloat. Since, this was a small batch I thought that the yeast and/or bacteria would still work with this brew. I am glad I decided to take this project on a small scale.

It has been three days. What should I expect for this yeast on a 2nd fermentation? I do not see any activity as of yet. What kind of things do I need to look for? Do I need to get a new yeast packet? Besides the obvious, what would you have done to the slap pack yeast if you found it the way I did?

I have only used Wyeast's lambic blend, but I didn't experience any swelling of the pack, either. I doubt you have a problem there.