First brew of 2022

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
5 minutes from flameout on a 11-11-11 Gunstock Ale.

DAMN IT! If i didn't stay up till 1:30am last night....but gotta admit, you both have me beat! (i wanted to be the first! 🤣 :mug:)

edit: next year i'm going to buy a can of pre hopped coopers extract in novemeber, for just this occasion....stay up until the stroke of 12, and add it to some water, with yeast...

It's been on my radar since I started brewing a little over a year ago. I was just waiting for the Old Ale sacc/brett blend to be released. It was, but my LHBS couldn't get any. I gladly took the Bootleg Biology substitute, also a special release.
Hmmmm… had to look that one up to… interesting that homebrewtalk came up first on each search.
this one must look familiar to you
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/threads/old-ale-blends.696679/

Up at 4am on New Years Day- only a brewer would do that!
Started the strike water heating at 4:30, the coffee a few minutes later.
Brewed my traditional New Years Bock/Dopplebock. Batch #185. Probably will get to batch #200 sometime in 2022.

I won’t get to brew til Monday or Tuesday. 3 in the pipe I have to deal with. I’m going to start back to basics with a plain old American Pale Ale.

Everybody remember to update the totals in how many gallons brewed in 2022 thread.

Let me know how that turns out. I have some Loral hops that I've been wanting to use
Following through on this.
I think my use of Loral hops with Maris Otter (in mid of Winter) may have just not been the best choice. I underestimated the amount of lemon in the hops, and the IBU that grainfather estimated (well over 30) turned out to be very underwhelming. It's odd, I notice very little bitterness at all.