First brew - comedy of errors

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buzd

Reaction score
As the title says, I'm new to this, but I got a kit for my birthday, as I wanted to give brewing a shot. I planned and read, and bought extra stuff, and finally had a day set aside to do my first brew (an extract APA which is my preferred style to drink).

Well nothing went to plan. In the morning, I went to activate my yeast. I took it out of the fridge, gave it a good smack and set it on the counter. 10 minutes later, I came back to yeast all over the counter.:( I guess I smacked it a little two hard (I suspect it may have already been activated). No worries - off to the LHBS for a replacement.

Then I started steeping the specialty grains. The recipe (which wasn't totally clear) said 20-20 minutes at 152. Another recipe said raise it to 150-170 with the grains in the bag. I figured I would be clever and use my Anova circulator to hold exactly 152. That worked well until I realized when I pulled the grains, I had burned a hole in the bag. Oh well, very little grain went into the wort. I just tossed the bag and lesson learned.

Then I started the boil. The recipe called for (light) extract and 60 and flameout, and Cascade hops, 1oz at 60, 0.5oz at 15, and 1oz at 0. Well, I got confused and put the second can of extract in at 30 minutes. I'm not sure what that will do (maltier? darker, since the sugar cooked longer?). Then I figured what am I going to do with 1/2oz of hops (also, yay, hops!) so I put the full oz of Cascade in the boil at 15 minutes, too.