First batch, worried about infection

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zzyzx Rhoades

Reaction score
This is my first attempt, starting off with fresh organic apples from a local farm, and had them pressed for me at a local cidery.

Trying to go with natural fermentation, so no campden or metabisulfate, no yeast added.

Straight into a 5 gal and 3 gal carboy with plenty of headspace for primary fermentation, airlock on.

They were pressed monday afternoon and into the walk-in-fridge ~38degrees f overnight. Brought home tuesday afternoon, room temperature 62-68 degrees. carboy still cold to the touch on wednesday.

Thursday evening I got adhesive thermometers on the containers, 64 degrees F reading. I also got my hydrometer and measured the SG at 1.062.

But I noticed 2 very small white spots, and lots of floating sediment. Much of the sediment fell down and settled after a gentle tap of the container.

Friday morning, still not much action in terms of fermentation. The white spot is a little fuzzy as seen in the picture, definitely not good!

At this point, is the batch done for? Should I wait and see? Or can I save it by changing directions, hitting it with some campden tablets, and pitching some yeast in it?

Thanks for the advice!

View media item 70748
View media item 70747
View media item 70746
View media item 70745

It's definitely fuzzy. Two of them, smaller than a pea in diameter. They are in the 5 gallon carboy. Hard to get a clear picture through the glass.

Sanitized fermenters the day before driving an hour to drop them off at the cidery.

I'm just hoping there is a way to salvage it now, before it goes any further.