First batch of All-Grain complete!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tanagra

Reaction score
I brewed my first batch of beer yesterday!

I have some experience in wine-making, and decided that brewing beer during the off-season would put my equipment to good use. I found a very simple five gallon stout recipe online that had great reviews, and decided to dive right into All-Grain Brewing. My friend who has recently taken up extract brewing came by to help me out, and this was a first AG batch for either of us. I have to say that it went off VERY well and I am elated with the results thus far. I used the recipe below and deviated only slightly in that I did NOT use any gypsum, and I used .5tsp of moss.

Dry Stout Recipe

5lbs 2-Row Pale Malt
2lbs Flaked Barely
1lb Black Barley
2.25oz Goldings, East kent
.25tsp Moss
10grams Gypsum
Wyeast Irish Ale #1084

Some of the Highlights:

The smell from the moment the grain is stirred-in until the moment the hops are added is absolutely heavenly!
My mash temperature settled to 155.8° - I felt that was pretty good considering I was aiming for 154°. I did not attempt to adjust it.
I was shooting for a starting SG of 1.039 and actually measured 1.042 @ 65°.
The 'boil-over' after adding the hops was all contained in the pot - BARELY. No Mess, No Loss!

The Not-So-Proud Moments:

I was planning to mash-out at 168° for 10 minutes and then sparge, but I only mashed-out at 159° (a gross miscalculation on my part - and I wasn't even drinking yet!).
I ran out of sparging water EVEN THOUGH I planned to have WAY more than I would have EVER needed.

Other Thoughts: