First All Grain Brew - Horrid Efficiency

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blackdirt_cowboy

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I brewed my first all grain brew today, which is only my third brew overall. I've done one extract, one BIAB, and now one traditional AG. I'm just trying to find out which system is for me, and I enjoyed the traditional all grain brew the best. However, my efficiencies were absolutely horrible. I'll outline my equipment, recipe, and process, and hopefully someone can shed some light on what my issues may be.

My equipment is pretty limited, as I'm just getting started. I have a 10 gallon stainless steel brew kettle, and I converted a 70 quart Coleman extreme cooler into a mash tun. I used an extra cooler that I have as a hot liquor tank.

The recipe that I used today is for a Founders Porter clone. The grain bill is:

9.5 lbs Maris Otter
1.25 lbs chocolate malt
1 lb Munich
10 oz carapils
8 oz crystal 120
4 oz black patent

Hops:

.75 oz nugget at 60 min
.75 oz crystal at 20 min
.75 oz willamette at 20 min
.25 oz crystal at 5 min
.25 oz willamette at 5 min

White labs California ale yeast wlp001
I made a 2 liter starter yesterday and had it on a stir plate since noon yesterday.

As for my process, I heated my strike water (4.1 gallons/1.25 qt per lb) to 171 and put it in my mash tun to warm it up. I lost three degrees to the mash tun and then added my grains. I stirred well and broke up all dough balls. The mash temp stabilized at my target temperature of 155°. I mashed for 60 minutes and only lost 1°. I drained the wort from the mash tun and took a sample. Gravity of first runnings was 1.070, which gave me a conversion of only 80.4%.