Finishing Off a Saison

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jamo99

Reaction score
I've got a Saison that's to be brewed next week. I'm wondering how to easily raise the temperature for one carboy to help that yeast finish off without hurting the rest of my babies. My fermenting area is 68-70 typically.

I was thinking of two different options to do this.

1) Move the carboy to a different closet and get a space heater to bump the temperature locally.
2) Get a thermacare heat wrap for lower back muscle relief and wrap that around the carboy. I've never used a thermacare wrap before for anything, just an idea that popped into the ol' head.

Any advice would be appreciated, especially when during fermentation I want to bump up the temp to get that Saison profile.

the heat wrap idea is a interesting one, but i dont think it would work. They dont seem to make that much heat, it would probably get disapated pretty quick. They only last a couple hours also, and they are not cheap. Best bet would probably be to just go get a heating pad for walmart. They used to have one that had a lcd control on it to control temp, but im not sure how low it went. Was only 20 bucks.

When I brew my Saison - very soon - I plan on moving it to the boiler room once it gets going. It's somewhere in the eighties in there, I think.

why i didnt say this earlier i do not know, but a week ago i bottled a sasion. after about 4 days fermenting i cover it in a sleeping bag, with just the blowoff sticking out. It climbed up to 79 from 70 on it own, just from the ferment. i Tasted it at bottle, was good, but seems quite dry. It should calm down tho, ill give it 6 weeks and tell ya how it turned out.