Filtering beer without using kegs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ni4ni

Reaction score
Hello

Im new to brewing (made 3 batches so far).
I used priming sugar, but I really hate the sediment in the bottle cause I like to drink my beer directly from the bottle. So I figured I have to filter my beer.

Most of the documents on the internet said I have to use two kegs to filter my beer, but this is to expensive for me right now. I thought maybe I can build some kind of piston that will run in my fermantation bucket and act like a big injector, forcing the beer through a filter (instead of air preasure in a keg). Then I will still have to carbonate my beer. Maybe I can do it using regular home soda making machine... It may work.

What do you think about this idea ? Is it possible ? Did anyone try to carbonate his beer with a home soda machine ?

Thanks

Guy

If you use priming sugar, you need yeast to ferment it. If you filter, you take out the yeast, giving you flat sweet beer.

I have no idea about the soda machine. Does it force carbonate? If so, you may be ok using it. Without force carbonation, you need yeast to carbonate, and they will leave sediment.

-magno

ni4ni said:
Hello

Im new to brewing (made 3 batches so far).
I used priming sugar, but I really hate the sediment in the bottle cause I like to drink my beer directly from the bottle. So I figured I have to filter my beer.