Fermenting In Florida Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StateRoad84

Reaction score
Hey all, total noob, first time brewer here.

I have searched for info on temperature while fermenting. My concern is that living in Florida the temperature in my house during the summer can reach 77 degrees with the a/c working hard. At night the temp is set at 69 degrees. Of course I am worried about off flavors developing during the ferm an condition phases.

I was thinking how to combat this problem and was wondering how this would work. I have an old 5 gallon stone crock sitting as a decoration in my living room. I will be brewing 1 gallon batches, so my fermentor should fit inside the crock with space between the sides of the crock and the fermentor. If I could put a water bath in the crock and control the temp with a little ice or cold packs the crock should be able to keep the temp fairly constant with some monitoring. Any thoughts?

That may work. If you do decide to go with bigger batches, which I am sure you will, I would look at Home Depot or on craiglist for fridge or small chest freezer and get an STC-1000 or something similar for temp control. I got a small chest freezer for about $125 at HD and use a temp controller and it does a great job in the summer. :mug:

I'm also from Florida and that's how I started out. Swamp coolers don't work so well with the high humidity, so I started using one of those party tubs filled with some water to set my carboy in. Kept a rotation of plastic 1L bottles frozen to bring down the temps.

That's until I found a minifridge by the dumpster of my college apartment and rigged up a ferm chamber that has been going strong for 3 years.