Fermentation temp?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am using safeale s-04 yeast w/5 tsp of Fermax yeast nutrient . What is an ideal temperature to ferment my cider at? OG is at 1.072. I used 2 lbs of Caramelized Brown sugar and 1.5 lbs of wild honey (from my bees) and 4.75 gallons of fresh pressed cider. This is my first try at a cider.

BrewinMAINEiac said:
I am using safeale s-04 yeast w/5 tsp of Fermax yeast nutrient . What is an ideal temperature to ferment my cider at? OG is at 1.072. I used 2 lbs of Caramelized Brown sugar and 1.5 lbs of wild honey (from my bees) and thats all. This is my first try at a cider.

Wait, your cider is being made entirely from brown sugar and honey? Really?

In any case, us04 works well in the mid to upper sixties.

BrewinMAINEiac said:
Oh and 4.75 gallons of Fresh pressed cider.

Makes so much more sense now! My first thought was "damn that's a high OG for just those two ingredients."

recommended temp range is 59* to 75*

Ideal temp? ... a lot of folks like long and slow. After the yeast establishes itself I'd say 65'ish.

So as in beer, its is the yeast strain that your using that determines the temperature range of fermentation?

BrewinMAINEiac said:
So as in beer, its is the yeast strain that your using that determines the temperature range of fermentation?

Well, the temperature range of fermentation is determined by YOU, as it's whatever range you happen to have the beer in the fermentor.

Your question is kind of difficult because it's largely meaningless. Though I suppose it's easy enough to infer that you were asking about what particular factor determines the *ideal* temperature range.