Fermentation differences amongst different styles.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrew21213

Reaction score
Hello, this will be my first post here. I just started brewing my second batch of beer last week. I’ve only ever brewed from a kit, and so I’m pretty inexperienced. I plan to get away from kits eventually when I’m more comfortable with the process. ANYWAY, the first time I brewed it was just a normal IPA. Took two weeks in the carboy and another two weeks after bottling. This time I’m brewing a wheat beer.

My question involves the fermentation process. When I was fermenting the IPA the kit made me use a glass of water and a tube for the CO2 release and the bubbles and foam on the top of the wort were much more than what I’m seeing now with my wheat beer. The wheat beer kit had me use a stopper cap filled with water rather than an entire glass, it bubbled for about 3 days, and then stopped and now I’m not seeing any activity in the co2 release, nor does the wort have a foamy top to it. The instructions say I still have another week of primary fermentation. Is this normal for a wheat beer? My IPA bubbled for well over 3 days and had a lot of foam on top.

Welcome to HBT and to the hobby!

Fermentation can differ greatly from batch to batch. There are a few variables at play. You didn't mention - are you doing all grain or extract?

Sounds like your IPA, you used a "blow off tube" for fermentation and now you're using an airlock, if I read your description right. I'm also assuming you're fermenting in a glass carboy?

Some yeast will ferment faster than others and some will ferment more violently than others. Some things that come into play are:
- How did you aerate the wort before pitching yeast (shaking, splashing, pure O2)?