Faucet covers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slogger

Reaction score
For those of you that use them, do you fill them with anything before you put them on your faucets?
I’ve never used them before but the kegorator is now in the garage and I don’t want any critters getting into the faucets.
I knew a guy who used them for this very reason. He filled them with something but I can’t remember if it was star san, rubbing alcohol, vodka etc, but I remember it was clear.

No rubbing alcohol. Really I don’t think using any sanitizer is necessary unless perhaps it would be unused for an extended period of time.

No rubbing alcohol. Really I don’t think using any sanitizer is necessary unless perhaps it would be unused for an extended period of time.
That’s the other reason. I Don’t drink on school nights or at least try not to. Im back to brewing after a 6 year hiatus. Before I was an every day drinker. Not abusive but I liked my beer.
So...any thoughts on what I can use?
what say you HBT community?

That’s the other reason. I Don’t drink on school nights or at least try not to. Im back to brewing after a 6 year hiatus. Before I was an every day drinker. Not abusive but I liked my beer.
So...any thoughts on what I can use?
what say you HBT community?
Well, some people use brush plugs which allows the inside of the faucet to dry so mold and gook shouldn’t form and large insects won’t get in. The caps make sure nothing gets in, perhaps giving the faucet a spray of starsan then capping it would suffice, (would be pretty easy to do) clean out the beer beforehand leaves nothing to attract insects and removes the last drop of beer.