Fast Fermentation/No Krausen

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ddubrow

Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm new to brewing and have a slight problem. Fermentation has taken place as evidenced by the air stopper that bobbed up and down for the first 48 hours, however there is no Krausen to speak of (I've been watching pretty closely) other than a ring around the glass top of 6.5 gallon carboy. Additionally fermentation appears like it will be complete within 3-4 days as bobbing is slowing to once every 25/seconds (2 day mark) and sedimentation at bottom is very much present.

Here are the details:

Belgian Beer - Boskeun (Grain, 2lbs honey, hop pellets, orange zest)
During brewing had trouble maintaining 150-160 window, so would add ice intermittently
Cooled down wort by first adding colder water (2.5 gallons) before adding (2.5 gallons) wort.
Added 1/8 of orange peel/juice to final concotion before pitching yeast.
Wort was definitely significantly above 75. How much? Don't really know.

Does lack of foamy head indicate this batch's a bust, or can it be saved?

Thank you in advance for your help.

The air lock is not an indicator of when fermentation is complete, it is only a airlock preventing things from entering your beer and gas to escape. There are numerous things like leaks that can happen and not show fermentation. You need to wait your beer out at least a week then check it with a hydrometer sample to know it is done. It wouldn't hurt to let it sit 2 weeks before checking and then transferring. You probably just had a really fast ferment and are done, but better to be safe than sorry, and beer only gets better with age. Patience is everything in good beer brewing.