extract to BIAB to MLT to EBIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RevA

Reaction score
Hi,
This might be a longish post.

I saw the homepage article and it got me thinking a bit.

Like many I started brewing with extract, and then wanted more control than the ready made extract kit's allowed, and in South Africa the options for unhopped extract are either imported extract that is usually a bit on the older side or something you have to import yourself. So I wanted into AG, but I didn't want to spend too much before knowing if I'm going to stick with brewing, so read about BIAB (propane non-automated) and tried it, loved the method, the simplicity and the fact that I could try any recipe on HBT that I could find ingredients for. After a while I wondered if the guys and gals using MLT don't make better beer, I knew they could use smaller pots than a I had. So I build a cooler mash tun and started brewing larger batches and enjoyed it as well, but missed the easy clean up I had had with BIAB. I then got a cheapish Urn kettle and modified it a bit so I can recirculate. Thus far I'm very happy with this method. I can't honestly say I found any of the methods better than the others, at best I can say I like the KISS principle.
Has anyone else gone through phases of brewing where you switch from one method to another?