Explosion!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greekdude

Reaction score
I’m totally new to this. A couple days ago I started up a hard cider batch and that bubbling away beautifully. Yesterday I made a batch of blackberry wine. Put it in 4 half gallon mason jars with stoppers on top. Woke up to find 3 jars closed with junk in the stopper and one jar completely open with sludge on the ceiling and table.
I’m guessing it’s too violent a reaction in too small a space.
My question is can I save it?! Can I put it in a big bucket with a stopper? Or is it irretrievable now that it’s been unsealed?

Get some gallon jugs, use stopper with a hole and use an airlock.
The wine in the jar that opened up will be fine.
You can use a bucket is that is all you have, but eventually you'll want to rack it off to jugs to let it settle and age without exposure to air.

So, I transferred it (after about 10 hours cause I had to go to work) into a 2 gallon fermentation bucket with an airlock attached. It's been about 5 hours now and I see no bubbles. Should I worry?

FBA04450-5FC6-43FC-A38F-13BD1AFCEA8C.jpeg
It doesn’t bubble at all. Just those tiny ones that stick to the sides. Don’t know what that’s from.

DO you smell anything?
I ask because buckets leak if they can. Gas will escape if it can. It's likely still being produced in which case you will smell it around the bucket if not sitting in front of a fan. That smell is the gas escaping from somewhere inside the bucket to outside the bucket, just not going through the airlock.