Experimental Cider Critique (Give your opinion!)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OedipusRex

Reaction score
As fall is coming here in the north woods I wanted to make an alcoholic beverage that really captures the season. So I sat down and started thinking about everything I wanted this to be and I decided on a cider. Now, I have never done a cider before soo.

:) Please let me know what you think of this experimental recipe :D.

Now I am thinking of something that is the personification of a perfect fall day. (more then a little subjective I know.) So that means a amalgamation of brown sugar, cinnamon, apple flavor and assorted spices; not to mention a sour bite at the end. With all that in mind and no further ado.

Fall in a bottle
1. 5 gallons orchard fresh cider
2. 1 pkt. Nottingham's ale yeast
3. enough dark brown sugar to raise the abv. to 6%
Primary Fermentation
Ferment in primary for 3 weeks
Secondary
Bake and mash 2lbs of Winesaps or Jonathans ( this is for that sour kick)
let ferment untill 6% abv then kill the yeast in your preferred method.

Flavoring
Now rack your cider into another fermenting vessel and now we're going to add some more baked apples but these ones are going to be delicious what you're going to need.

Ingredients:
4. 2 teaspoon butter
5. 4 tablespoons dark brown sugar
6. 6 teaspoons vanilla sugar
7. 6 teaspoons ground cinnamon
8. 2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
9. 12 large Honeycrisps - peeled, cored, and sliced (keep the peels for extra flavor)
10. 1 tablespoons water
you can double this for taste
steps
Now preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a large baking dish with the butter.