English Barleywine help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
I've never brewed a barleywine and was wondering if this is something that'd work.

Note, this is a 3 gallon batch (5gal mash tun...) at 65% eff. i usually get around 70% but i'm assuming some loss from a completely full tun.

11.00 lb 2-row
01.50 lb munich
00.50 lb c120

mash at 149? for....60? 75? 90? not sure

2.00oz US goldings at 60 (4.5% AA)
1.00oz Williamette at 30 (4.8% AA)
0.50oz Williamette at 15 (4.8% AA)

WY1098 British Ale

1.100, 75 IBU tinseth

thanks for your input.

I think that it looks good. The IBU's are a little high for an English Barleywine 40-70 range. I'd still think it would taste great. I'd mash for 75 but that is just me.

Looks like a good recipe. Mash for at least 90 min, I'd say, and then boil for 120 or even more if you want.

I tend to slightly overhop my beers I intend to age, as I know they'll lose bitterness and hop character over time. 75IBU is well within the range of good hopping levels, whatever the silly charts say. It will be a little bitter at first, but will age gracefully. Make sure to aerate well, pitch enough yeast, and give this time. A month or to in the primary before transferring for bulk aging (if you choose to do that) for a few more months would not be out of the question.

yeah i was overshooting the IBU's to allow for aging.

why 120 minute boil? is it just for mallard/melanoidin development or something else?

mash temp ok?

Make sure that 2-row is a pale ale malt, preferably one from Blighty....