Element rust

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Malric

Reaction score
I've done about 10 batches on a new HERMS 4500W system. I noticed today that the base of the element is starting to rust. Any input from the seasoned electric brewers? Do they make stainless elements?

Brewmation claims that their elements are Stainless and rustproof (http://brewmation.com/Heating_Elements.html). I have no experience with them, but I did glance at them shortly before simply ordering 2x 5500 Camcos.

I haven't run my setup yet, however I'm expecting some rust since our water is hard.

Clean off the rust and then coat the face of the element base with a thin layer of silicon adhesive. That seems to eliminate the problem until you remove the element for serious cleaning. You will have to coat it again after reassembly.

I even tried a magnesium cathode but still got rest. I think my issue is due to the water drops remaining after the pot is empty (no more connection with the cathode for the parts that rust). Short of getting an all stainless element, I too reccomend silicone around the base.

This has come up before, and I was curious if anyone could explain how they applied the sealant more clearly. Did you just pull out your element and spread the sealant onto the silver metal base and allow it to dry? Or did you apply sealant to just the face of the element base while it was installed?

I'd like to coat mine before I install them to cut rusting off at the pass... =D

This has come up before, and I was curious if anyone could explain how they applied the sealant more clearly. Did you just pull out your element and spread the sealant onto the silver metal base and allow it to dry? Or did you apply sealant to just the face of the element base while it was installed?