Eight random tips for new brewers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

willy_mugobeer

Reaction score
Hi everyone, first of all, thanks for the awesome amount of collective wisdom on this site....I've found more answers here than I can count, and some great new recipe ideas as well.

So in the spirit of giving back, I figured I'd post my top "lessons learned" after about 7 batches...obviously I'm no pro but so far, all my brews (extract recipes with steeping grains at the start) have come out pretty well ...so maybe the tips below will help other newbies avoid some of the same mistakes I've made along the way.

1. Once your water (liquor?) is up to proper steeping temps (around 150), put your bag of grains in, then drop your heat down to its lowest setting. Otherwise, your temps will continue to rise and get over 170 (danger zone for tannin extraction) WAY faster than you think. (After a few batches, you'll get the hang of your system's behavior on this.)
  2. Got DME? Empty all your bags of DME into a large bowl, and then use a coffee cup or one-cup measuring cup to add into the boil slowly. DME is, by far, the stickiest/gummiest/clumpiest substance ever known to mankind. If you try to pour straight from a bag into your boil, it will clump up at the opening of your bag and create a huge mess.
  3. If you're moving from a primary in a plastic pail with spigot...into a carboy for secondary....be sure to remove the airlock at the top of the primary before you open the spigot and let the beer flow into the secondary. Otherwise, there's no way for air to get in and replace the beer that's going into the secondary...and you wind up with a vacuum that will a) stop the flow of beer, and b) make it nearly impossible to get the primary's airlock or lid off.