eHERMS, Chiller, & Sparge Water Heater

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JadeAug

Reaction score
So I decided to try my hand at building one of these magical unicorn appliances I have read about people making. This all started because was an exclusive BIAB brewer for the past few year, and I was wanting a better way to control mash temps. I have recently upgraded to a cooler mash tun after a melted bag incident but I still desire more control.

Like many of you I am a mechanical engineer and a control freak who loves to tinker with their gear and have max control over their process. In fact I think I actually might enjoy designing and building my brew system more than actually brewing the beer. Since I am an apartment kitchen brewer I wanted to use my existing brewing infrastructure to save space so I figured the best way to do this would be to turn my counter flow chiller in to a multipurpose heat. The other heat exchangers I have seen posted on this forum try to make a HERMS CHiller by putting a coil in a water chamber but since I figure chilling is the most demanding use of the homebrew heat exchanger I decided to just modify my chiller instead of making a chiller.

I started by finding some band clamp heaters that would fit around my coils. I got mine on ebay but these can be had from McMaster Carr as well. In order to get full contact with the heaters I rolled some 0.040" aluminum to fit around the coils, underneath the heaters. This allows the heaters to not have any airgaps underneath them both improving heating efficiency and reducing hot spots that could prematurely burn out the heater. This also effectively reduces the energy density and imparts heat to more of the coils.

umijqNX.jpg