Effects of different mash/sparge temps?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gtrman13

Reaction score
I'm somewhat new to allgrain brewing (done about 5 batches) and have always aimed for a mash temp of 150-153 and a sparge temp of 167-170. I've heard of some folks mashing at temperatures from the upper 150s to the lower 140s and different sparge temps as well. What is the reasoning behind using different temperatures? Just curious, thanks!

Different mash temps give different length sugar chains, which affects how much of the malt your yeast can eat. Higher temps (155 or so) give more body, lower temps (145 or so) give more "crisp" flavor, IIRC. It has to do with the relative activity of alpha-amylase versus beta-amylase, I believe.

I'm no expert, though!

great question. i brewed a cane and ebel clone and overshot my mash temp. i usuallymash at 154 but this time it was at 158. it was real cold out and i thought i might lose some temp but i didn't. don't know how it will turn out

Mash temp is very important and can greatly effect the fermentabilty and body or mouth feel of the beer. There are 2 mahjor enzymes at work to break down the long chain starches into simpler sugars for the yeast to ferment. Yeast can't eat the more complex sugars (dextrines) if they are allowed to remain the dextrines will add body and posibly sweetness to the beer. A beer low in dextrines will be more fermentable, have a lower finishing gravity, a lighter body and a dry finish.

The Low temps 147-152 will produce less dextrines and more simple sugars. light body and dry finish

High temps 156-166 will produce more dextrtines and less simple sugars. Heavy body and (sometimes) a sweeter finish.

153-155 is the mid range.