eBIAB control circuit help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fc36

Reaction score
I'm looking for either a concise wiring diagram or just some advice on my control panel. So, naturally, I'm looking in Walker and/or P-J's direction. To give you some background, I'm a chemical engineer that designs control panels that utilize pids and all that good stuff for a living, but I'm not the best when it comes to designing a correct control circuit. I usually wing it and let our QC guys correct my wiring schemes.

Anyway, I'd like to be able to use a 3-way selector switch to either flip between my PID for mash control or a PWM circuit for boil control, but I'm at a loss for where to wire it into the circuit. Should it be on the +vdc or -vdc side from each control circuit to my element ssr and how do you send two different control signals to a ssr?

Also, if I'm doing that, do I use two contact blocks to break both sides of the low voltage circuit or one contact block on just the +12vdc side, for example? I also have an e-Stop to wire in and connect to an Undervoltage release on my gfci circuit breaker (all din rail mount btw). And where in the circuit would I place the gfci, ahead of the ssr to my element or after it?

Thanks in advance. I'm good at this stuff, but I just need a little help and advice to finalize the last few details of my circuit. I also have indicator lights and other pushbuttons to wire in for element indicators and what not.