Easier style for Beginner? (Belgian Tripel or Russian Imperial Stout)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CincyStout

Reaction score
Hi, all. This is my first time posting here, and I'd appreciate some guidance. I haven't home brewed in three years or so. Even then, I'd only done a half-dozen batches, so I'm very much an amateur at this. I've got a weekend without the wife and kid coming up, so I thought I'd get out the old gear and brew something up. I was thinking about either a Belgian style tripel or maybe a Russian Imperial Stout. Are either of these styles manageable for someone with no real skill?

Any tips for brewing one of theses?

Secondary question: I've never used a wort chiller before. Is it really worth the investment?

Thanks!

Sure, you don't say if you'll be building the recipe from scratch or using a kit. A kit would eliminate some of the chances for mistakes, but it's your call. I've just recently brewed a Trippel and a Russian Imperial Stout. The only real problem with the stout from your perspective is the wait involved before it will be drinkable.

I didn't think either one of them was very tricky to brew. They were both from AHS.

As for the wort chiller, that's almost a religious question for some. I'm a small potatoes brewer, I've never used one and always had good results so far. I've only brewed seven kits, though.

Good Luck!

As for the wort chiller, that's almost a religious question for some. I'm a small potatoes brewer, I've never used one and always had good results so far. I've only brewed seven kits, though.

Good Luck!

I agree about the wort chiller, assuming you're doing partial boils that can be chilled in a sink full of ice. Just make sure you have plenty of ice.