Dry yeast rehydrated (6 hours)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adagiogray

Reaction score
A buddy got a batch of stout wort brewed up. We rehydrated the dry yeast from his kit for 15ish minutes, then added a small bit of diluted liquid malt extract to test it. The response wasn't great, but we were called away before the wort had cooled enough for us to pitch the yeast in.

We came home 6 hours later and the yeast jar looked pretty inactive. We went ahead and pitched it in. Would you suggest picking up more dry yeast in the am and adding it? Or should we just 'wait and see' with this yeast?

Im no expert but have used dry yeast a bunch of times. I would say give it a few days and wait for the bubbles to start going. It might take a little longer but be patient and if all else fails pitch some more yeast. Once again im no expert

Happy brewing and welcome to your financial burdon lol

A buddy got a batch of stout wort brewed up. We rehydrated the dry yeast from his kit for 15ish minutes, then added a small bit of diluted liquid malt extract to test it. The response wasn't great, but we were called away before the wort had cooled enough for us to pitch the yeast in.

We came home 6 hours later and the yeast jar looked pretty inactive. We went ahead and pitched it in. Would you suggest picking up more dry yeast in the am and adding it? Or should we just 'wait and see' with this yeast?