Dry vs Liquid Yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simzy

Reaction score
I'm very new to brewing, in fact I havn't even bottled my first batch yet. I wen't to the LHBS today to get some bottles for bottling, and ended up talking about different methods for brewing. He said that the easiest way to improve the taste of your beer is to use liquid yeast.

I know different types of yeast can drastically change the taste of your beer, but will liquid yeast actually change the outcome that much?

I'm very new to brewing also(just bottled my first batch a couple days ago). The main argument seems to be that with liquid yeast you have many more options on strains, so you can more tailor the yeast to the style of beer you are making or your personal preferences. I have also read that dry yeasts do work just fine, as long as they go with the style you are making.

I hope I am not to far off, if I am, I am sure someone will correct me.

Wup

I don't think liquid yeast will make your beer taste better. However, there are many more strains of liquid yeast than there are dry, so if you're going for a style that is better served by one of the liquid strains that are not available in dry form, then perhaps the proprietor has a point.

But if you're using, for instance, Wyeast 1056, then I would say just go with a packet or two of S-56 for $2-3 instead of $6-7 for the liquid.