Dry hopping with Leaf hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Calder

Reaction score
I've been brewing beer on and off for almost 15 years, and never used leaf hops for dry-hopping. Always used pellets, probably because 90% of my haps have been pellets.

I'm going to make a Citra IPA and have leaf Citra hops, and will need to use them for dry hopping. What is the best way to use them?

With pellets I just add them to the beer, and in 10 to 14 days they have settled on the bottom and I can bottle the beer with out any problems.

Do I do the same with leaf? Will they sink, will they cause problems with racking to the bottling bucket?

I could put them in a sanitized bag and weigh them down with marbles (how many are needed?), but I would prefer to let them swim freely as I feel there would be better extraction that way.

Any advice.

I have only done it once. You are going to want to add it after your beer has finished the initial bubbly part of the ferment. They take up a ton of space. Dry hoping at first will definatley limit your bucket or carboy space and risk a clogged blow off, so let it settle down. Rack like usual.

I know when to dry-hop, probably done it a hundred times. I've just never used leaf before. Wanted to see if anyone had any tips to minimize problems.

Shouldn't be any issues other than the fact that leaf hops will tend to absorb more water. They will also play hell on your (auto) siphon when you try to rack the beer out of your carboy/bucket/keg if they aren't contained in a hop sock or bag of some sort.

Get a thing called a sure screen. About $8 max. If you keg, dry hop in the keg* and put this thing on the diptube. Otherwise put it on your racking cane.