Dry hop with Simcoe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

b33risGOOD

Reaction score
Because of circumstances beyond my control when i was purchasing hops for my last brew I had to substitute Amarilo for my dry hop with Simcoe which is

13AA

Do people dry hop with Simcoe?

My hop schedule was

1oz Warrior 60 min

.5oz Amarillo 15
.5oz Simcoe 15

.5oz Amarillo 5
.5oz Simcoe 5

Then dry hop 1oz of the Simcoe.

yes, Stone Brewery definitely dry hops with simcoe. are they whole hops or pellets?

My house IPA and Pale ale both are dry hopped with Simcoe - it ROCKS mon! 1.5 - 2 Oz and you will get a big ass passion fruit aroma.

They are pellets and I have one OZ. Its my first time dry hopping and my first partial mash so im very anxious to see how this brew turns out.

They are pellets and I have one OZ. Its my first time dry hopping and my first partial mash so im very anxious to see how this brew turns out.

you'll love it. amarillo and simcoe compliment each other nicely. I do an ipa recipe where the dry hop is optional - simcoe or amarillo. I do this recipe a lot and alternate between the two. they both taste awesome although I favor the amarillo just a tinge

I just dry hopped a batch of Nut Brown Ale with 1 oz of Mt Hood Pellets for 3 day before bottling. Curious to see how it turns out.

I always plan to dry hop but usually chicken out because im afraid of having to deal with hop matter when im bottling. This time im gonna do it! at least thats what im telling myself :)

no but i will

My favorite IPA is dryhopped with .5 ounce simcoe and 1 ounce amarillo. It's awesome. They are both great alone, but together they are synergistic and go from great to "wow"!