Drunken Baked Beans

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwynia

Reaction score
This is one of those recipes that changes every time I make it, but I've been making versions for several years. Different beer/cider changes the flavors in interesting way and on days like today, I get Vidalia onions, which I really like to use when they're available. If I have leftover pulled pork, I add a bunch of that as well.

This is for a large, oval crock pot. The older style circle crock pot should probably be half of this.
1/4 pound of bacon or salt pork
1 lb pork sausage
1 lb of diced onions
3T of diced garlic
1.5 lbs of dried great northern beans
1 29 oz can of diced tomatoes
1 6 oz can of tomato paste
2 cups of brown sugar
3 bottles of beer or hard cider
4 oz of whiskey

Soak the beans for 24-48 hours.
Dice and brown the bacon or salt pork and add it to the crock.
Brown the pork sausage and add it to the crock.
In the pork fat, sauté the onions and garlic and add them to the crock.
Add all but the beer and whiskey and beans to the crock.
Add the whiskey.
Add the beans.
Fill the crock with beer.
Put it on low for 24 hours. I usually try to get a 4 hour window on high, somewhere in the first 12 hours. The character really changes in the last 8 hours.
Make sure that the beans stay covered in liquid or you’ll get a layer of crunchy beans on top.
Depending on the beer or cider used, you may need more sugar or a bit of maple syrup to balance the acidity.
2014-06-27%2009.04.52.jpg

2014-06-28%2009.14.33.jpg

This batch this past weekend used my dark candi sugar cider and Maker's Mark (wife needs to avoid gluten for a while to see if she's allergic to it). There's a temptation to use dark beer for this, but the way things cook down, that doesn't work well.