Dropped the o-ring from the airlock into the beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewillini

Reaction score
Obviously this is my first time brewing.

I am brewing the Autumn Amber Ale from Midwest and the airlock stopped bubbling after 20 hours. I thought it had to do with the temperature of the room since it fluctuated from 62-75 but now I don't think that was the case. Tonight I opened the lid to see what was going on. When i put the lid back on, the airlock seemed loose. As a result, I pushed the airlock down, dislodging the o-ring out of place. Unfortunately, the o-ring went straight into the beer and I couldn't find it. At this point, the beer had been in the primary for 3 days and like I said, stopped having visible bubbles in the airlock after 1 day. Did I contaminate and ruin my beer?

Thanks

It's probably fine. People drop o-rings, stir bars, thermometers, all sorts of things into their beers and the vast majority of the time they still make good beer.

The beer is probably fine. Unless there was something disgusting on the top part of the o-ring you are still good.

Hydrometer is your friend. Use this tool for figuring out if you are done fermenting or not.

As for the bubbles stopping, there could still be fermentation occurring. If there is any foam on top of the beer then fermentation is still active.

Stick with the brewing schedule (2 weeks primary, recommended 3 weeks), and don't keep opening up the carboy. You are more likely to contaminate it that way, or at least disturb the nice CO2 layer on top.

Leave it be, and re-visit it when it is bottling time.

Hope this helped!

Did I contaminate and ruin my beer?

Doubtful.