Does fermentation chamber slow fermentation rates and/or affect ABV?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whovous

Waterloo Sunset
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am very new to all of this, but my recipes have all included overpitching US-05. I usually brew 2.5 to 3.0 gallons and pitch an entire packet after oxygenating. Fermentation was always in a dark closet. It started fast, and after about 72 hours the bubbling pretty much stopped.

This time is different. I put the wort into a fermentation chamber (old fridge with Fermostat) at 62F on a Monday afternoon. It is 144 hours later, and I upped the temp to 64 early today. It is still bubbling quite vigorously and audibly; not as much as it was after 24 hours, but still at least a bubble per second, and still some standing bubbles in the StarSan side of the blowoff tube.

Is this because my temps are better controlled and probably 6-10 degrees lower on average than they were in the closet? Or I am likely to wind up with a lower final gravity (and higher ABV) as a result of all this extra bubbling?

It's doing what it's supposed to be doing. You're fine. The cooler temps are keeping the fermentation from running wild. You will experience slightly longer fermentation than at room temp with no control. But that's a good thing. By keeping the fermentation temps in check you reduce ester formation and will have a better resulting product when it is complete.

An over pitched ale at 62 will give you a very clean beer, almost bordering on a lager. As far as attenuation, after ~72 hours you should have began to ramp up your temp to ~68-70f. That will help ensure that the yeast will finish the job.