Do You Depit Your Cherries?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Talgrath

Reaction score
So, I'm making a (hopefully) tasty summer farmhouse ale in Washington State, the idea being that I'm using hops from Yakima and cherries from Yakima, it's my first time using cherries in a beer. After spending an hour removing pits from cherries and then cleaning up the mess, I suddenly thought to myself "Do I even need to do this?" after all, the cherry flesh around the pit should just ferment away right? So for anyone else that uses cherry in your beer, do you remove the pits or do you just toss your cherries in whole?

I don't think it really matters. That being said it's probably a best practice to remove them since the pits can impart an almond flavor and have cyanide in them. The cyanide is a small concern since you would need to put quite a bit in there in order to actually poison yourself.

I made a cherry wheat once, secondaried on 10lbs of fresh cherries frozen then thawed and left the pits in... It had a strange off flavor that never really completely went away. I always blamed the pits. It could've been something else but I've not had that same off flavor any other of my beers.

If I were to do it again I think I might just use a frozen cherry puree or something. Hand pitting 5-10lbs of cherries doesn't sound like fun.