Do i need to filter hops when transferring to carboy for fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

Bates_Foreman

Active Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
29
Reaction score
1
I just brewed two beers. One is an english style ESB, the other an APA. On the ESB I used a 7 gallon carboy and poured everything into it, including the leftover pellet hops from the boil. I then pitched my yeast. Are you supposed to pour EVERYTHING from the boil into your carboy? Is it important as far as flavor, etc.? Just curious as to what others do...
 

kevinb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
651
Reaction score
36
I did the same thing for my first few brews. Everthing turned out fine. Now I use a stainless kitchen strainer when I pour into the carboy. Some hops still get through but it filters most of it out.
 

Malticulous

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
4,136
Reaction score
85
Location
St. George Utah
It is fine. You might get more hop flavor, maybe even some grassyness. (Probably not.) I dump my whole boil most of the time. It will all settle out with the yeast cake.
 

scubasteve03

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
166
Reaction score
9
Location
Sierra Vista
Do you NEED to? - no

filtering out hops will help reduce the amount of trub in your fermenter; making it easier to wash yeast, and will help reduce the chances of off flavors.
 

Malticulous

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
4,136
Reaction score
85
Location
St. George Utah
I've reused yeast with hops in them with no problems. I don't bother rinsing yeast any more. I only reuse it fresh and never have I noticed any flavor carryover. But then I don't use the whole yeast cake either.
 

hinkle

Active Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2012
Messages
26
Reaction score
4
Location
Portersville
I've reused yeast with hops in them with no problems. I don't bother rinsing yeast any more. I only reuse it fresh and never have I noticed any flavor carryover. But then I don't use the whole yeast cake either.
Any tips on where can I read about this, threads?
 

sok454

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
741
Reaction score
19
Location
chatham
There is a whole forum devoted to yeast. I believe a sticky too that talks about reusing yeast
 

SteveHeff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
704
Reaction score
94
Location
Merrimack
Any tips on where can I read about this, threads?
There's a very good write up on this forum. Go to the yeast tab and you should see "yeast washing". Step by step, very easy. Good luck.
 
OP
B

Bates_Foreman

Active Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
29
Reaction score
1
Thanks for the quick responses everyone... This is only my third time brewing, and although i have had pretty impressive results in my last couple of brews (For a beginner), I'm still in the learning process and want to learn as much as possible. I guess after a couple of weeks, I could rack to a secondary but it probably isn't necessary. Thanks again! Cheers!
 

Stauffbier

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
1,050
Location
El Paso
I don't strain my wort. It all gets dumped in to the fermenter. I also wash yeast without any issues.
 

kevinb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
651
Reaction score
36
Thanks for the quick responses everyone... This is only my third time brewing, and although i have had pretty impressive results in my last couple of brews (For a beginner), I'm still in the learning process and want to learn as much as possible. I guess after a couple of weeks, I could rack to a secondary but it probably isn't necessary. Thanks again! Cheers!
You will probably find the same thing that I have found while homebrewing and getting advice from the forum and other brewers. There are no hard and fast rules for these kinds of things. Dfferent brewers have different preferences. That is one of the fun things about homebrewing. You can experiment and find what works best for you.
 
Top