DIY glycol chiller

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jag75

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey all I was thinking of making one using a window ac unit. One thing I'm curious about is whether it's a window ac or a portable ac unit it has to vent. Either the back end outside the window or a hose to the window. Is it good to be using as a glycol Chiller with no venting?

I think you are referring to a drain for condensation?
My DIY unit apparently needs no draining, there is no water in the chassis.
I've been running it in my 50*F garage for a couple months now.

I guess it's just heat that's being produced. That's why they are in a window or a hose fixed in a window . Talked to some ac guys I know . I just didnt know if there was any carbon monoxide or anything you shouldn't inhale .

Nope, nothing to worry about. I've had mine on autopilot for about 6 months now down in my 60 degree basement. I mainly use it to cold crash, getting the 10 gallon reservoir down to 28 degrees

Nice . I'm in the process to finding a window ac . Might just get a new one at home depot. 130$. My brother has one but its digital. Hopefully I'll have it built within next couple months and get my cf5

Look for a local scratch and dent or "open box" store... I bought a 5000btu unit that was banged up for $40. I was cutting the chassis off anyway, so I didn't really care that it was dented.

Nice . I'm in the process to finding a window ac . Might just get a new one at home depot. 130$. My brother has one but its digital. Hopefully I'll have it built within next couple months and get my cf5