Did tea give me a hangover?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BuonAnno

Reaction score
My wife requested that I brew a Peach Cream Ale for the summer and I was happy to oblige. I used my usual Cream Ale recipe (7# 2 Row 1# Flaked Corn) as the base. I didn’t really feel like using real peaches so I did something I have never done before, I used herbal tea. I went to a local store and picked up 2 oz of herbal peach tea and added it to the boil at the 15 minute mark. Oh and I also threw in a half pound of Crystal 40 to give it a darker “peachier” color and add some sweetness.

So the brew day went perfectly and I hit all of my numbers (OG 1.051). After 14 days the US 05 gave me a FG of 1.009 so I put it on gas at 12 PSI for two weeks and it was perfect. The taste was really good with tons of peach in the nose and aftertaste but it still tasted like my Cream Ale.

Now here is my problem. Two days ago I tapped this and had 4 pints. I went to bed and woke up with one of the worst hangovers of my life. It lasted all day yesterday and I still feel it a bit this morning. I looked at all of the possibilities and it had to have been the brew. My wife and son felt fine and we all ate the same meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner so it couldn’t have been something I ate.

Has anyone else had this experience when infusing tea? I’m actually nervous to try it again so I’m looking for some support.

give it another go and see if it was the beer.

maybe it was related to something else?

perhaps caffeine from the tea addition may have increased dehydration (increasing hangover)? Or was it caffeine free tea?

perhaps caffeine from the tea addition may have increased dehydration (increasing hangover)? Or was it caffeine free tea?